THE STREETS AS A GALLERY — COUNTERING LOCKDOWN BLUES WITH OUTDOOR ART ALL ACROSS BERLIN

THE STREETS AS A GALLERY — COUNTERING LOCKDOWN BLUES WITH OUTDOOR ART ALL ACROSS BERLIN

With museums closed and this year’s Gallery Weekend taking place partly online, more and more artists are bringing their works into public spaces. First up, Bjørn Melhus has created an intervention to counter Corona blues: from Friday to Sunday, he will send an SOS light signal into the night sky from the north tower of Frankfurter Tor between 21 and 22h, with neighbors invited to show their solidarity and send Morse code back. Meanwhile, the project space Open in Wedding is showing a video and sound installation from Mischa Leinkauf focusing on the welcome idea of the light at the end of the tunnel by transforming a shop window into a screen every evening between 20h and0h. Over in Prenzlauer Berg 40 artists have transformed their windows and balconies into temporary exhibition spaces from Friday to Sunday. Back this year for its second round, the initiative not only encourages people to take a walk, but asks them to rethink the history and image of Berlin’s northern neighborhood. Meanwhile, artists Nicole Janze and Andreas Uehlein are highlighting the plight of both art spaces and the hospitality sector: for their “Geisterkiez” piece the pair have created a scenic installation in the window of the Uebereck pub.

Head over to Kreuzberg and you can transport yourself to the skies above Brazil with the billboard works by Ana Hupe, Barbara Marcel and Matheus Rocha Pitta that are visible on the platform of the U1 station at Kottbusser Tor. The trio’s Südstellium series of pictures use the sky as a device for exploring colonialism, exploitation and environmental damage. Also offering commentary on man’s destruction of nature is artist Gil Shachar, who has made a cast of a 14-meter-long humpback whale that was stranded on a beach in South Africa in 2018 and displayed it inside the St. Elisabeth in Mitte. Over at the inner courtyard of KW, a short sound-based tribute to German revolutionary Rosa Luxemburg can be heard daily at 12 noon. And finally, artist Anne-Lise Coste’s visual poetry is on show at the exhibition room of the Institut français in Charlottenburg and offers a little bit of hope with the words “Nous danserons” – “we will dance”. Let’s hope we will be…

Text: Laura Storfner / Credit: Gil Shachar “The Cast Whale Project”, St. Elisabeth; Melhus 2021 “Tower to the People SOS”; Project space by Amélie Esterházy “Open Berlin” / Photos: Artland Sarah Kivi, Courtesy of Semjon Contemporary

LOQI Tower, Frankfurter Tor, 10243 Berlin–Friedrichshain; map
Bjørn Melhus, Tower to the People: SOS – Save Our Souls, 30.4.–2.05.2021, daily 21–22h.

Open, Prinzenallee 35, 13359 Berlin–Wedding; map
Mischa Leinkauf, Down is Up, Inside is Outside, until 30.05.2021, 20–24h.

Various balconies and windows in Berlin–Prenzlauer Berg; map
The Balconies 2 – Scratching the Surface, 30.04.–2.05.2021, Fri 16–19h, Sat + Sun 12–19h

Uebereck, Prenzlauer Allee 47, 10405 Berlin–Prenzlauer Berg; map
Geisterkiez: a scenic installation at Uebereck, 30.04.2021, 20h30

U1 Kottbusser Tor, 10999 Berlin–Kreuzberg; map
Südstellium, until 20.05.2021, 24h

St. Elisabeth, Invalidenstr.3, Berlin–Mitte; map
Gil Shachar, Cast Whale Project, until 14.05.2021, daily 11–20h

KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Auguststr.69, 10117 Berlin–Mitte; map
Susan Philipsz, Rosa, 2002/2021, daily 12h

Institut français, Kurfürstendamm 211, 10719 Berlin–Charlottenburg; map
Anne-Lise Coste, Nous Danserons, at Les Vitrines, until 11.07.2021, 24h

@ebensperger_
@open.berlin/
@amelieesterhazy/
@diebalkone
@sudstellium
@st.elisabeth.villaelisabeth
@kwinstitutefcontemporaryart
@liberty.adrien
@ifkudamm
@bureaudesartsplastiques

cee_cee_logo

DIE STADT ALS FREILICHTMUSEUM: KUNST GEGEN DEN BLUES IN GANZ BERLIN ENTDECKEN

DIE STADT ALS FREILICHTMUSEUM: KUNST GEGEN DEN BLUES IN GANZ BERLIN ENTDECKEN

Das kommende Wochenende steht im Zeichen der Kunst: Während das Gallery Weekend hybrid eröffnet und die Museen schließen müssen, weiten Künstler*innen ihre Aktionen auf den öffentlichen Raum aus. Bjørn Melhus findet für den aktuellen Corona-Blues ein eindrucksvolles Bild: Von Freitag bis Sonntag sendet er aus dem Nordturm des Frankfurter Tors zwischen 21 und 22 Uhr ein SOS-Lichtsignal in die Nacht. Anwohnende sind eingeladen, ihre Solidarität zu zeigen und zurück zu morsen. Um das Licht am Ende des Tunnels dreht sich die Video- und Soundinstallation von Mischa Leinkauf, die der Projektraum Open im Wedding zeigt. Hier wird die Schaufensterscheibe jeden Abend von 20 bis 24 Uhr zum Bildschirm umfunktioniert. Ein Zeichen für Zusammenhalt setzen auch über 40 Kunstschaffende im Prenzlauer Berg, die von Freitag bis Sonntag ihre Fenster und Balkone in temporäre Ausstellungsflächen verwandeln. Das Projekt, das in diesem Jahr in die zweite Runde geht, regt nicht nur zum Spaziergang an, sondern will auch die Geschichte und das Image des Viertels neu denken. Dass sich nicht nur unabhängige Kunsträume, sondern auch die Gastronomie ums Überleben kämpft, zeigen Nicole Janze und Andreas Uehlein: Mit dem Stück „Geisterkiez“ schaffen sie eine szenische Installation im Schaufenster der Kiezkneipe Uebereck.

Von Kreuzberg aus kannst Du momentan rund um die Uhr in den Himmel über Brasilien schauen: Ana Hupe, Barbara Marcel und Matheus Rocha Pitta bespielen die Plakattafeln der U1 am Kottbusser Tor. Ihr Projekt Südstellium nutzt das Firmament als Ausgangspunkt, um Kolonialismus, Ausbeutung und Umweltschäden zu kommentieren. Ein Mahnmal gegen die menschengemachte Zerstörung der Natur setzt der Künstler Gil Shachar in St. Elisabeth in Mitte: Seine Abformung eines 14 Meter langen Buckelwals, der 2018 an der Küste Südafrikas strandete, nimmt beinahe das gesamte Kirchenschiff ein. Im Innenhof der KW ertönt jeden Tag eine kurze Hommage an die Revolutionärin Rosa Luxemburg: Das Lied der Klangkünstlerin Susan Philipsz ist täglich um 12 Uhr mittags als persönliche Würdigung vom Band zu hören. Hoffnungsvoll stimmen die Textbilder der Künstlerin Anne-Lise Coste, die im Schaufenster-Ausstellungsraum des Institut Français in Charlottenburg zu sehen sind. Ihre visuelle Poesie trägt Botschaften voller Zuversicht ins Freie: Nous danserons – wir werden tanzen! Hoffentlich ist es bald soweit…

Text: Laura Storfner / Credit: Gil Shachar „The Cast Whale Project“, St. Elisabeth; Melhus 2021 „Tower to the People SOS“; Project space by Amélie Esterházy „Open Berlin“ / Fotos: Artland Sarah Kivi, Courtesy by Semjon Contemporary

LOQI Tower, Frankfurter Tor, 10243 Berlin–Friedrichshain; Stadtplan
Bjørn Melhus, Tower to the People: SOS – Save Our Souls, 30.4.–2.5.2021, täglich 21–22h

Open, Prinzenallee 35, 13359 Berlin–Wedding; Stadtplan
Mischa Leinkauf, Unten ist Oben, Innen ist Außen, bis 30.5.2021, 20–24h

Verschiedene Balkone und Fenster im Viertel, Berlin–Prenzlauer Berg; Übersichtskarte
Die Balkone 2 – Scratching the Surface, 30.4.–2.5.2021, Fr 16–19h, Sa + So 12–19h

Uebereck, Prenzlauer Allee 47, 10405 Berlin-Prenzlauer Berg; Stadtplan
Geisterkiez: eine szenische Installation im Uebereck, 30.4.2021, 20h30

U1 Kottbusser Tor, 10999 Berlin–Kreuzberg; Stadtplan
Südstellium, bis 20.5.2021, rund um die Uhr

St. Elisabeth, Invalidenstr. 3, Berlin–Mitte; Stadtplan
Gil Shachar, Cast Whale Project, bis 14.5.2021, täglich 11–20h

KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Auguststr.69, 10117 Berlin–Mitte; Stadtplan
Susan Philipsz, Rosa, 2002/2021, täglich 12h

Institut français, Kurfürstendamm 211, 10719 Berlin–Charlottenburg; Stadtplan
Anne–Lise Coste, Nous Danserons, bei Les Vitrines, bis 11.7.2021, rund um die Uhr

@ebensperger_
@open.berlin/
@amelieesterhazy/
@diebalkone
@sudstellium
@st.elisabeth.villaelisabeth
@kwinstitutefcontemporaryart
@liberty.adrien
@ifkudamm
@bureaudesartsplastiques

cee_cee_logo