Cee Cee Creative Newsletter Book Neighborhood Map Lessons
Stadtplan
Information
archive temp
loop temp
NEW BEGINNINGS MEET MUSICAL HERITAGE — MENSCH MUSIK #6 FROM THE RUNDFUNK SINFONIEORCHESTER BERLIN

NEW BEGINNINGS MEET MUSICAL HERITAGE — MENSCH MUSIK #6 FROM THE RUNDFUNK SINFONIEORCHESTER BERLIN

Questions about home, origin and identity are unifying elements of the composers and performers in the Haus des Rundfunks series Mensch, Musik!. Under the title “Heimkehr in die Fremde” (“Return to the Unknown”), conductor Ruth Reinhardt embarks on a musical journey in search of answers in pieces by Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Bohuslav Martinů, Ursula Mamlok, George Walker and Dai Fujikura. These will be juxtaposed with extraordinary electronic sounds by British composer Richard Scott. There are surprises in store: Aribert Reimann’s disturbing arrangement of the Mendelssohn-Heine piece is performed by acclaimed countertenor Philipp Mathmann, while Mendelssohn’s title piece is paired with movement by Colombian dancer and choreographer Gustavo Llano. Finally, actress and speaker Inka Löwendorf adds spoken texts on the theme of homecoming and foreignness. The result is a multiperspectival, diverse evening with striking sound design. And what ensemble would be better suited for this than the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, an orchestra which for a century has played in the architecturally unique halls of the Haus des Rundfunks, a listed building. With new beginnings meeting musical heritage, the audience is in for a fantastic night.

Text: Hilka Dirks / Credit: Tauchgold, Jessica Schaefer & Peter Meisel

Haus des Rundfunks, Masurenallee 8–14, 14057 Berlin–Charlottenburg; map

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin – Mensch Musik! #6 Return to the Unknown, Fri 03.02.2023. Tickets are available here.

@rsb_orchester

cee_cee_logo
WHO WANTS TO LIVE FOREVER — JANÁČEK’S “THE MAKROPULOS AFFAIR” AT THE STAATSOPER

WHO WANTS TO LIVE FOREVER — JANÁČEK’S “THE MAKROPULOS AFFAIR” AT THE STAATSOPER

A prototypical femme fatale – emotionally impoverished, torn between restlessness and longing – cold-hearted opera diva Emilia Marty is looking for a potion that promises eternal life. Its recipe is hidden somewhere among the documents of an absurdly complex inheritance dispute that has been going on for a hundred years. The plot summary of Leoš Janáček’s opera Die Sache Makropulos (The Makropulos Affair) reads as wildly and emphatically as the sounds of his music, which are uniquely characteristic of him. Staging is by Claus Guth with musical direction by Finnegan Downie Dear. The audience at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden is literally sucked in, so dense are the melodies, storylines and profound questions of this meta-opera about the pros and cons of eternal life.

The work’s suggestive power and light footedness is supported by Etienne Pluss’ stage design and the choreography. You see a cross-section of a Wes Anderson-esque anthill in which the protagonists wander through hotel corridors, theater aisles and the shelves of a law firm while pondering the big questions of life: meaning, death and finitude, love, its absence and how it all connects. Dvořák’s friend Janáček, who worked long hours in Austria and Germany and was fluent in German, always preferred Czech in the Pan-Slavic tradition. And so his penultimate opera is also in Czech (with English and German subtitles): composed in tune with the unique harmony of the language.

Text: Hilka Dirks / Photos: Monika Rittershaus & Marcus Ebener

Staatsoper Unter den Linden, Unter den Linden 7, 10117 Berlin–Mitte; map

Die Sache Makropulos 21.01–02.02.2023. You can book tickets here. Save 20 percent on tickets with the code “Hallo2023” (maximum of four tickets per booking. Simply enter code at the end of the online booking process).

@staatsoperberlin

cee_cee_logo
THE SOUND OF FREEDOM — RADIOLAND AT THE NEUKÖLLNER OPER

THE SOUND OF FREEDOM — RADIOLAND AT THE NEUKÖLLNER OPER

There was a time when the personal became political and young people rebelled against their parents’ generation. A time when rock music was so revolutionary that states were founded because of it: we are in Great Britain at the end of the 1960s. The BBC refuses to listen to pop, but the youth doesn’t want to be deprived of their wild musical awakening. The solution? Independent pirate radio stations on the high seas. And so the Bates family set up their own radio station on an abandoned anti-aircraft platform in international waters. When the established radio stations finally jumped on the bandwagon and started playing new music, father Roy Bates got an idea: if you can have musical freedom, what about the freedom of a state of one’s own? And so, without further ado, he established Sealand. A utopia, an ideal, an idea of freedom, whose citizenship can still be purchased on the Internet by anyone and everyone for a small sum. With its new production “Radioland – The mostly true, but always unbelievable story of the Principality of Sealand,” the Neuköllner Oper once again succeeds in creating a memorable, entertaining and profound piece about recent (pop) music history. Full of tragedy and comedy, it tells of radio piracy, freedom and how visions become reality. You will leave the show having been a witness to the founding of a state and having heard the unique sound of utopias becoming reality.

Text: Hilka Dirks / Photos: Thomas Koy för Neuköllner Oper

Neuköllner Oper, Karl-Marx-Str.131–133, 12043 Berlin–Neukölln; map

Radioland premiering 26.01.2023, runs until 26.02.2023.

@neukoellneroper

cee_cee_logo
CURATED CINEMA AT HOME AND ON THE BIG SCREEN — MUBI GO

CURATED CINEMA AT HOME AND ON THE BIG SCREEN — MUBI GO

I discovered film in my mid-twenties. Of course, I visited the cinema now and again to see the latest flick with friends, but I didn’t have much of a clue. I only really got into movies when I started studying at art school and a tutor recommended Mubi, a streaming service for curated films. Launched in 2007, the platform not only serves a new film every day, but distributes and produces features too. I signed up and discovered a whole new world. Actually: thousands of new worlds. I discovered directors, genres, writers and actors. I discovered stories: short, long, narrative, abstract, documentary. I started to understand what cinema can really be. How big and important and magical. Mubi serves these scenes, stories and universes right to your sofa, but the service doesn’t neglect the big screen experience: in collaboration with cinema chain Yorck, you’ll currently receive a free movie ticket every week as part of your subscription (exclusive to Berlin). The selection changes every seven days and includes latest releases curated by the Mubi editorial team such as Charlotte Wells’s “Aftersun” (last screenings tonight, 22.12.2022) and “The Pale Blue Eye” by Scott Cooper (from Friday, 23.12). You can book the tickets using the Mubi Goapp. A Mubi subscription can also be bought as a gift – ideal for a last-minute Christmas present. “We just have two hours to change people’s lives,” American filmmaker John Cassavetes once said. In this case it’s two hours every week.

Text: Hilka Dirks / Photos: Savannah van der Niet & Daniel Horn for Yorck

You can see the current Mubi programme online here and find out more about Mubi Go here.

@mubideutschland

cee_cee_logo
BEHIND THE MASK: VINYAGO BRINGS DANCE, EXHIBITS AND PERFORMANCES TO THE HUMBOLDT FORUM

BEHIND THE MASK: VINYAGO BRINGS DANCE, EXHIBITS AND PERFORMANCES TO THE HUMBOLDT FORUM

It’s about identity, reparations, theft, loss and impermanence: Vinyago – Dance and Exhibition beyond Colonial Biographies at the Humboldt Forum combines various art forms to create a large-scale installation. Vinyago is the result of 19 Tanzanian artists’ interpretation of the collection at Berlin’s Ethnological Museum. Their focus is on East African masks: “Vinyago” means masks in Swahili. Historical masks are complemented by contemporary examples from Tanzania (because of Germany’s colonial legacy, most of the artifacts in the collection come from present-day Tanzania, a former colony). In performances, the masks become one with the dancers. The works cleverly point to and reflect upon the paradox in which ethnological museums find themselves today. The installation and performances function as a magnifying glass. The performances, which feature dancers and musicians interacting with the exhibits, take place on weekends and are followed by discussions with the artists. But the exhibition also continually and consistently challenges modes of representation, interpretive sovereignties, and accessibility.

Text: Alina Herbel / Photos: Nicholas Calvin Mwakatobe & Stefanie Loos

Humboldt Forum, Schloßplatz 1, 10178 Berlin–Mitte; map

Vinyago Exhibition until 08.01.2023 & Performances until 18.12.2022

@humboldtforum

cee_cee_logo

Cee Cee Creative Newsletter Book Neighborhood Map Lessons
Stadtplan
Information
archive temp
loop temp
AUFBRUCH, TRADITION UND INTERDISZIPLINARITÄT — MENSCH MUSIK #6 VOM RUNDFUNK-SINFONIEORCHESTER BERLIN

AUFBRUCH, TRADITION UND INTERDISZIPLINARITÄT — MENSCH MUSIK #6 VOM RUNDFUNK-SINFONIEORCHESTER BERLIN

Fragen nach Heimat, Herkunft, Identität sind die verbindenden Elemente der Komponist:innen und Performenden im Haus des Rundfunks im Rahmen der Reihe „Mensch, Musik!„. Unter dem Titel „Heimkehr in die Fremde“ begibt sich die Dirigentin Ruth Reinhardt auf die musikalische Suche nach Antworten in den Stücken von Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Bohuslav Martinů, Ursula Mamlok, George Walker und Dai Fujikura. Gegenüber gestellt werden diese den elektronischen und außergewöhnlichen Klängen des Briten Richard Scott. Doch nicht nur programmatisch schlägt der Abend Bögen – an Transkulturalität reiht sich Interdisziplinarität: Das verstörende Arrangement Aribert Reimanns der Mendelssohn-Heine-Vertonung wird von Oberarzt und Countertenor Philipp Mathmann vorgetragen, das titelgebende Stück Mendelssohns wird vom kolumbianischen Tänzer und Choreografen Gustavo Llano interpretiert — autobiografische Momente sind hier kein Zufall. Schließlich ergänzt noch Schauspielerin und Sprecherin Inka Löwendorf gesprochene Texte zum Thema Heimkehr und Fremde. So entsteht ein mehrperspektivischer, diverser Abend vor starkem Konzept. Und welches Ensemble wäre dafür besser geeignet als das traditionsreiche Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, das in den denkmalgeschützten, architektonisch einzigartigen Hallen des Haus des Rundfunks auf eine hundertjährige Tradition zurückblicken kann? Aufbruch trifft Geschichte, Bewegung auf Fundament und die Zuschauenden auf einen fantastischen Abend. Mensch, Musik!

Text: Hilka Dirks / Credit: Tauchgold, Jessica Schaefer & Peter Meisel

Haus des Rundfunks, Masurenallee 8–14, 14057 Berlin–Charlottenburg; Stadtplan

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin – Mensch Musik! #6 Heimkehr in die Fremde, Fr. 03.02.2023. Tickets gibt’s hier.

@rsb_orchester

cee_cee_logo
DAS ENDE DER UNENDLICHKEIT — JANÁČEKS „DIE SACHE MAKROPULOS“ IN DER STAATSOPER

DAS ENDE DER UNENDLICHKEIT — JANÁČEKS „DIE SACHE MAKROPULOS“ IN DER STAATSOPER

Ein Prototyp der Femme fatale, die emotional verarmte, zwischen Rastlosigkeit und ihren Sehnsüchten zerrissene Operndiva Emilia Marty ist auf der Suche nach einem merkwürdigen Trank, der ihr ewiges Leben verspricht und dessen Rezept sich irgendwo zwischen den Dokumenten eines absurd komplexen, seit hundert Jahren andauernden Erbschaftsstreits befindet. Die inhaltliche Zusammenfassung Leoš Janáčeks Oper „Die Sache Makropulos“ liest sich so wild und emphatisch wie die für ihn charakteristischen Klänge seiner Musik. Inszeniert von Claus Guth und unter der musikalischen Leitung von Finnegan Downie Dear werden die Zuschauenden in der Staatsoper Unter den Linden förmlich eingesogen, so dicht sind die Melodien, Handlungsstränge und tiefgreifenden Fragen der Metaoper über Sinn und Unsinn von ewigem Leben.

Unterstützt wird die suggestive Kraft und der phantastisch-leichtfüßige Eindruck durch Etienne Pluss’ Bühnenbild und die Choreographien der Tänzer:innen: Der Querschnitt eines Wes-Anderson-Assoziationen erweckenden Ameisenhaufens, in welchem die Protagonist:innen durch Hotelflure, Theatergänge oder zwischen den Regalen einer Kanzlei herumirren, geplagt von den großen Fragen des Lebens: nach Sinn, Tod und Endlichkeit, Liebe, ihre Abwesenheit und den vielen sich bedingenden Verknüpfungen dazwischen. Der Dvořák Freund Janáček, der lange in Österreich und Deutschland arbeitete und die Sprache fließend beherrschte, bevorzugte in panslawistischer Tradition zeitlebens stets das Tschechische. Und so ist auch seine vorletzte Oper auf Tschechisch (mit englischen und deutschen Übertiteln): komponiert im Einklang mit der einzigartigen Harmonie der Sprache.

Text: Hilka Dirks / Fotos: Monika Rittershaus & Marcus Ebener

Staatsoper Unter den Linden, Unter den Linden 7, 10117 Berlin–Mitte; Stadtplan

Die Sache Makropulos 21.01.–02.02.2023. Tickets kannst Du hier buchen. Mit dem Code „Hallo2023“ sparst Du 20 Prozent beim Ticketkauf (maximal vier Karten pro Buchung im Rahmen eines begrenzten Kontingents. Einfach am Ende des Buchungsvorgangs im Webshop eingeben.)

@staatsoperberlin

cee_cee_logo
DER KLANG DER FREIHEIT — RADIOLAND IN DER NEUKÖLLNER OPER

DER KLANG DER FREIHEIT — RADIOLAND IN DER NEUKÖLLNER OPER

Es war einmal eine Zeit, in der das Private politisch wurde und die Jugend sich gegen die Elterngeneration auflehnte. Eine Zeit, in der Rockmusik so revolutionär war, dass man ihretwegen eigene Staaten gründete: Wir befinden uns in Großbritannien Ende der 1960er-Jahre. Die BBC verweigert sich dem Pop. Doch die Jugend will sich ihren wilden musikalischen Aufbruch nicht nehmen lassen. Die Lösung? Unabhängige Piratensender auf hoher See. Und so errichtet auch Familie Bates auf einer verlassenen Flakplattform im internationalen Gewässer ihre eigene Radiostation. Als die etablierten Radiosender endlich auf den Zug aufspringen und die neue Musik spielen, kommt Vater Roy Bates auf eine Idee: Was ist schon die Freiheit der Musik gegen die Freiheit eines eigenen Staates? Und so gründet er kurzerhand Sealand. Eine Utopie, ein Ideal, eine Idee der Freiheit, deren Staatsbürger:innenschaft bis heute im Internet für jede und jeden gegen wenig Geld erwerbbar ist. Mit ihrer neuen Inszenierung „Radioland — Die meist wahre, aber immer unglaubliche Geschichte vom Fürstentum Sealand“ gelingt der Neuköllner Oper erneut ein einprägsames, unterhaltsames und tiefgründiges Stück über jüngere (Pop)Musikgeschichte. Voll Tragik und Komik erzählt es von Radiopiraterie und Freiheit und davon, wie Visionen Realität werden. Und so verlässt man den Abend nicht nur mit der einmaligen Erfahrung Zeug:in einer Staatsgründung gewesen zu sein, sondern auch mit dem köstlichen Klang in den Ohren, der entsteht, wenn Utopien Realität werden.

Text: Hilka Dirks / Fotos: Thomas Koy für Neuköllner Oper

Neuköllner Oper, Karl-Marx-Str.131–133, 12043 Berlin–Neukölln; Stadtplan

Radioland Premiere 26.01.2023, reguläre Spielzeiten 27.01.–26.02.2023.

@neukoellneroper

cee_cee_logo
KURATIERTES KINO ZU HAUSE UND AUF DER LEINWAND — MUBI GO

KURATIERTES KINO ZU HAUSE UND AUF DER LEINWAND — MUBI GO

Mit Mitte zwanzig entdeckte ich den Film. Natürlich ging ich auch vorher ab und zu ins Kino oder sah gemeinsam mit Freund:innen was man gerade so sehen konnte, doch hatte ich eigentlich keine Ahnung. Bis ich begann, an einer Kunsthochschule zu studieren und mir eine Tutorin im ersten Semester Mubi empfahl. Ein globaler Streaming-Dienst für kuratierte Filme. Seit 2007 existiert die Plattform, die nicht nur jeden Tag einen neuen Film bereitstellt, sondern mittlerweile auch Features vertreibt und produziert. Ich meldete mich an und entdeckte eine vollkommen neue Welt, nein, Tausende neue Welten. Ich entdeckte Regisseur:innen und Genres, Autor:innen, Schauspieler:innen und Geschichten: Kurze, lange, narrative, abstrakte, dokumentarische und begann zu verstehen, was Film, was Kino, was Cinema wirklich sein kann. Wie groß und wichtig und magisch. Und auch wenn man sich mit Mubi fremde Bilder, Geschichten und Universen aufs heimische Sofa holen kann, wird doch das echte Kinoerlebnis nicht vernachlässigt: In Kollaboration mit den Yorck Kinos erhältst Du im Moment zusätzlich zur Streaming-Mitgliedschaft noch eine Freikarte pro Woche fürs Kino (exklusiv in Berlin): Via Mubi Go gibt es so jede Woche Zugang zu einem neuen, aktuellen, von der Mubi Redaktion kuratierten Kinoerlebnis, wie beispielsweise Charlotte Wells Drama „Aftersun“ (noch bis heute Abend) oder der Thriller „The Pale Blue Eye“ von Scott Cooper (ab 23.12.2022). Am einfachsten buchbar via App und die Mubi Mitgliedschaft am schönsten als Weihnachtsgeschenk. „We just have two hours to change people’s life“ sagte einst der US-amerikanische Filmemacher John Cassavetes: aber ab jetzt jede Woche.

Text: Hilka Dirks / Fotos: Savannah van der Niet & Daniel Horn für Yorck

Das aktuelle Mubi-Programm kannst Du hier einsehen und mehr über Mubi Go erfährst Du hier.

@mubideutschland

cee_cee_logo
HINTER DER MASKE — TANZ, AUSSTELLUNG UND PERFORMANCES BEI VINYAGO IM HUMBOLDT FORUM

HINTER DER MASKE — TANZ, AUSSTELLUNG UND PERFORMANCES BEI VINYAGO IM HUMBOLDT FORUM

Es geht um Identität, Annäherung, Diebstahl, Verlust und Vergänglichkeit: „Vinyago – Tanz und Ausstellung jenseits kolonialer Biografien“ im Humboldt Forum verbindet verschiedene Kunstrichtungen zu einer raumgreifenden Installation. Es ist das Ergebnis der Auseinandersetzung 19 tansanischer Künstler:innen mit der Sammlung des Ethnologischen Museums und der Präsentation des Hauses. Im Fokus: ostafrikanische Masken – wie der Titel auch schon verrät, denn auf Suaheli bedeutet „Vinyago“ Masken. Die historischen Varianten werden durch kontemporäre Masken aus Tansania ergänzt – aufgrund der deutschen kolonialen Vergangenheit stammen die meisten Artefakte der Sammlung aus dem heutigen Tansania – und in der Performance eins mit den Tänzer:innen. Installation und Performance fungieren hier als Brennglas: Sie zeigen und reflektieren den Widerspruch, in welchem sich ethnologische Museen bis heute befinden. Die Performances, in denen Tänzer:innen und Musiker:innen mit den Exponaten agieren, finden an den Wochenenden statt, im Anschluss gibt es Künstler:innen-Gespräche. Doch auch die Ausstellung hinterfragt konstant und konsistent die Präsentationsformen, Deutungshoheiten und Zugänglichkeiten.

Text: Alina Herbel / Fotos: Nicholas Calvin Mwakatobe & Stefanie Loos

Humboldt Forum, Schloßplatz 1, 10178 Berlin–Mitte; Stadtplan

Vinyago Ausstellung bis 08.01.2023 & Performances bis 18.12.2022

@humboldtforum

cee_cee_logo